Pluto is an ass kicking planet. He means business and basically demands that change happen in your life. You can either learn to go with the flow or, like a volcano, he will spit fire and globs of molten lava into your life, causing you to sprint for cover. Nothing shy of transformation will suffice! Get with it or get plowed under. That’s what Pluto is about. If you are cooperating with this energy, life will proceed more smoothly but if you are living a life out of balance, prepare to be steam-rolled.

Normal is no fun to blog about, so let’s take a look at what Pluto looks like when he is rampaging through someone’s houses on a transit. Why, you ask? Well, for starters it might help you to gain compassion and understanding for the person’s obsessive behaviors. If you are close to the person, you might even be able to help. Think intervention! But remember, what seems like a horror show to you may be exactly what that person needs to go through in order to turn their lives around. Thirdly, red flags are posted so you can avoid some potential land mines at work and in your relationships. Lastly, it is just kind of secretively interesting, is it not?

I find it fascinating! And yes, when folks are out of balance, Plutonic crises emerge. Ego-deaths result. Things that no longer serve us well pass out of our lives…sometimes gnashing and clawing on the way out. Emotions boil and we subconsciously attract situations that will allow us to kill off the dead wood in our lives. Pluto demands that we dig deep to find our potential. That potential may be to heal, to release limiting thoughts, to tap into our true strength and inner voice. Hidden complexes from childhood resurface as we plunge into this blast furnace of transformation. If you are living in denial, change may not come gracefully, but with fists shaking, while you hurl curses into the wind.

So when Pluto runs amuck, life gets REAL interesting. We’re going to do this series of “Pluto runs Amuck,” on a house by house basis. Historically, the 12th house has been known as the house of secrets, sorrows and self undoing. So what happens when an ass kicker cuts lose in a place where trouble already known to exist?

Karma and suffering are associated with the house of sorrows. This house also represents our connection to the collective unconsciousness, the primordial soup of all of our collective memories, hurts, heart-breaks and pain. Pluto does nothing by half-measures, so a person with this placement keenly feels the slings and arrows and suffering of others. Sometimes, though, the pain can be overwhelming and rather than allow the sea of hurt to ignite a flood of compassion, a person with Pluto amuck may seal their heart in a tomb of stone to anesthesize the anguish. Shutting out the world and turning a blind eye keeps the pain at bay.

The 12th house can also act like a transitory tunnel to the native with Pluto residing here. Earth and the world of forms resides on one side of the tunnel and the great heavenly abyss lies on the other. A thin red line separates the two worlds and the native with Pluto in the 12th may have a tough time deciding which world they want to inhabit. Faith and trusting the divine can be scary business and yet this person, more than most, is being asked to align their will with that of spirit.

Losing control is an issue with Pluto in the house of sorrows. Confinement is often associated with the 12th house which is why asylums, hospitals and jails come to mind. Even the word incarceration sounds tight and restrictive. Many prisons are simply the ones we create with our own minds. Pluto here can thus be linked with giving up your power. A caged mind can be afraid to break out from behind its own self-imposed limits.

Another thing that can happen is that a person can lose their identity to a cause. They give so much of themselves to an issue, that they live, breathe and sweat their projects, leaving their personal selves behind. Pluto amuck here wants to feel that their lives have some purpose or meaning and they will pay a dear price to make that happen. Journalists who venture behind enemy lines to capture war stories come to mind. They risk everything to bring their stories to light.

Dark, buried secrets may get revealed when the God of the underworld starts rooting through the 12th house. Pluto leaves no stones unturned and if you are hiding something, He is likely to reveal it, hence the “self-undoing” part of this house.

Fantasies, illusions and delusions also swim in these waters. Compulsively chasing the wispy veils of daydreams can be problematic. Minds can become lost in the misty sea of these netherworlds. Paranoia, nightmares, denial of reality, escapism and martyrdom all lurk here, for in the 12th house you will find inner demons, shadow material and angels all vying for space to rent and evictions aren’t always easy.

So with Pluto in the 12th house, my best advice is this: Be careful who you rent your head space to.

12 responses »

  1. I have Pluto transiting my 12th house currently, and I think the hardest thing with this transit is that little of what I do is actually recognised. Everything is done behind the scenes, and although many people benefit from my activities, most say nothing. There are also those who invest energy in undermining my activities so that they may benefit instead. I find this transit a blessing in disguise, as it is giving me at last, the time I need to devote to my dearest dreams, without the interruptions of those who just use me. Thus my boundaries are in tact, and I have the strength to say ‘no’ to injustice, time wasters and abusers! This is my time to create, to follow my heart and its deepest whisperings. Only the best things in life come from dedication, focus and patient efforts! :).

    • boobooda7 says:

      Bridget, thanks for your comments. I did a reading for a friend who has Pluto in the 12th and the thought I shared with her was to not give her power away and it seems like you are learning to do just that. This can also be a very spiritual placement as well as one that lets us dive to the very depths of our subconcsious patterns if we allow ourselves to do so. I’m always so grateful when I hear from folks because it helps me to learn too! Forgive me if there is a delay in my response…I’ve been living the fast and furious life lately and I don’t currently have wifi…so it takes me a little while to see what’s up. Well, here’s to wishing you well in every way possible. Peace and Blessings, Geo

  2. When it comes to pluto in the 12th house:

    I was born in May 27, 1977. I have currently the transit of Pluto transiting Capricorn in the 12th house.

    1) I have found an intensity of emotions, due to buried deep issues from childhood. I find myself crying at the drop of a hat for issues stemming from the childhood.

    2) People such as enemies that are un known have showed up in my life. For example, a woman actually several women having an affair with a boyfriend/EX boyfriend now…

    3) I had an accident to my knee and a lot of time in therapy to rehab it.

    4) I have had some spiritual/psychic dreams and experiences.

    5) Tried hypnotherapy

    6) I mostly feel these experiences are related to karma….as what goes around comes around…..

    Hope that helps!

    • boobooda7 says:

      Thanks so much for your input. It helps me to understand where you all are coming from. I know of another woman who has Pluto in the 12th and the best message I could give her was to not give up her power to anyone else. She had a difficult upbringing and there were plenty of folks who wanted to steal her power but she was a strong woman and taken many positive steps to overcome her past. You should feel strong too! People that go through difficult things as kids can be some of the strongest, wisest people on earth.

  3. Jan says:

    Enjoyed reading your post about Pluto. He’s such a cosmic bad boy! He has just transited from my 12th into my 1st, bouncing around on my ascendant for the last year or so. Pluto in my 12th was a long, deep self-interment…a time of great disillusionment, broken family relationships, family secrets surfacing, loss of almost all close relationships, a sense of bondage and imprisonment and failure, deep examination of myself, my past, my integrity, spiritually adrift and withdrawn from all external, structured organizations, authorities, and groups…in short, a time of much suffering, solitude, and isolation. As Pluto crossed into my 1st, it brought abrupt upheaval and transformation: having to sell my home where generations of my family had lived, which brought devastating loss and sorrow– and then, a year later, an unexpected move to the place I had always loved as my “spiritual home.” I’m unreservedly relieved that Pluto has left my 12th house, and I find it to be much more fun, exciting, and easier to cope with as he dances with my ascendant. I’ve just realized that in a few more years Pluto will enter my daughter’s 12th house, and I’m wishing I could find something more palatable about that transit for her sake. It sure wasn’t easy for me. It was the time of my undoing.

    • boobooda7 says:

      Jan, I am so sorry this transit was so tough for you. I call Pluto the ass-kicker for a reason. I hope you can find some strength in adversity…I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. Sometimes it is not always so easy to understand the reasons/benefits when you are undergoing the deluge, but often , in time, wisdom will come. I hope that is the case for you. In the meantime, You might want to read my post on Pluto in the first. The joy of understanding astrology is that you have an opportunity to harness the planetary energies for good. I know it doesn’t always pan out that way, but our thoughts, actions, words, etc. can help to steer things along a positive path…even when you have an ass-kicker sitting on your chest!

  4. Sue says:

    Hi I am sue. I have transit Pluto conjunction my natal sun in Capricorn. ( it’s been hitting me since 2012) with the ( Uranus / Pluto dance) for 7 passes. But as I am a double Capricorn person. I had a tough life and going through the Pitts and climbing mountains is my average year. I do not get to have fun that much and constantly have some authority person been a enemy. 2016 by December I should be over Pluto stuff. Although it will move conjunction to my ascendency at 20 degree. I am like some readers here on this blog, been un well and having to have hospital treatment long term. I also had to say at home in my own space to keep my strength up and autoimmunity leve stable. In saying the house boundary because the nature of my illness I could only wear cotton or very loose garments as my skin was blistering and peeling from treatment. Same with some stage of my long hair.
    Love life destroyed. Found out he was cheating several times. As for employment well that story will be written in December 2016 as I am trying to return to work now, although I lack energy and become very tied. I am a single parent and have a. Wonderful son with some close friends who are supportive. All I can say is I do my very best when in the. Community and at work. My Saturn return2015 honoured me with respect and I thank the university for that. As a Capricorn now 60 years of age, I still become scared of the abusive power happy bosses and peers who tried so many time to have me dismissed.

    I just pray as I return to work, that this last close encounters of Pluto that Jupiter will protect me from their childish games.

    Cheers from Australia God bless you all

    • boobooda7 says:

      Hi Sue, thanks for chiming in. I’m glad to hear that health conscious people as well as astrology minded folks are popping in for a visit. As you’ve probably gathered, I’ve faced my own health concerns in life and I will be the first to tell you that there is always hope. Where there is a will, there is often a way and nobody ascends until it is time. That being said, I am sorry you’ve had such challenges lately. I think we all get served up with some tough lessons, choices and learning curves, me included. All we can do is to do our best to figure out what we need in order to grow. Overbearing bosses can indeed be a hardship. I too have seen my fair share of this and it does sometimes leave you wondering if they learn from any of there encounters? Or do they simply continue to trod on the little people? Anyhow, one must keep the faith and remember to not ever become that if you one day find yourself in power. Here’s wishing you the very best on all fronts of your life! Geo

      • sue says:

        thank you for your reply. Just having a terrible itching time now with Lichen Planus of the skin. Possible seeking a different type of teaching career. And well Pluto is going retrograde so i can expect big issues to be bighting at my tail. until it all passes over. I am trying to find a new life.. but really that is a big challenge also at age 60 yrs. sue

      • boobooda7 says:

        Hi Sue, Sorry to hear about the skin rash. Hope you are looking into alternative health stuff to get at the bottom of the situation. Naturopathic doctors can be great for helping with stuff like that. When I trained as a massage therapist we also asked questions to try and figure out what was causing a problem. For you, I might ask: what is it in your life that is getting under your skin? Figure that out and make changes and see what happens. Naturally, I would some solid medical care into the mix of that. Regarding the new life…I encourage you. If you aren’t being treated well where you are or you are finding it difficult to be happy under the present circumstances than I do by all means encourage you to seek change. I am 53 and I am doing it and though it is tough, when you are given a raw deal somewhere there is enormous satisfaction in doing a reboot. It brings new energy and possibilities into your life thus changing up the energy flow/pattern. I can say that because I have Saturn in my 1st house right now! So there is a new sheriff in town and it is me. Stifling situations that aren’t working are going to get canned under that influence and that is so you can reshuffle your life into a more meaningful hand. I encourage the reshuffle if it is needed.

  5. kari wood says:

    pluto inmy 12th is the motherf’er of all time. NARCISSISTIC mother (86 years) been ill last year and a half requiring me to care for her around the clock, no job/life of my own, money has run out, car was broken into at grocery store huge amount of cash,laptops, phones etc gone, lost 3000 cash month before while shopping, enemies circling, oh forgot to mention my little fiat was repo’ed night before thanksgiving! and days later aforementioned mother fell and broke hip. a front tooth knocked out…..are you getting all this? This shit has been going on soooo long but it is teaching me how to surrender and am FINALLY letting go of things i should have long, longago. I like your writing and encouragement to readers. keep up the goodwork.

    • boobooda7 says:

      Kari, I wish you peace. Wow, so much stuff to happen to you all at once. Though pluto in the 12th can let you see where you are giving your power away it can also be a powerful placement for spirituality, for delving into your subconscious mind and for reworking mental scripts. Is there a way for you to come to a deeper understanding of the craziness happening in your life right now? So much of life is perspective. I can honestly say that. I went through a terrible bout w/ cancer but in looking back on that journey I have to admit that it made me stronger than anything else could have. By changing the filter, I changed my story. Anyhow, I feel for you in all that you are going through and I hope you can find a way through and for it to make you stronger in the long run.
      Geo

Leave a Reply

